Known as a true coastal gem of the Overberg, the village of Arniston/Waenhuiskrans is a beautiful time capsule of our rugged coast’s past. With such a rich history, we thought you might enjoy these interesting facts about Arniston:
The town was originally named after the nearby Waenhuiskrans Cave.
Legend tells that the Cave is big enough for an ox wagon and a full span of oxen to turn around inside.
The second part of the town’s name came from the HMS Arniston which shipwrecked here in 1815.
It is the only town in South Africa with an official double barrel name which was officially recognised in 1981.
Arniston/Waenhuiskrans was established as a town in 1922.
The nearby renovated hamlet of Kassiesbaai was declared a National Heritage Site in 1986.
Kassiesbaai along with the adjacent dunes of Dollas Downs have been declared a Grade 1 Nation Heritage Site called the Waenhuiskrans Cultural Landscape.
The nearby Marine Reserve was also established in 1986 and stretches 12km into the ocean.
The natural Waenhuiskrans Cave, believed to be the biggest coastal cave without a supporting pillar, can only be reached during low-tide and best done with a guide.
Another lesser-known ship that also met its end on the rocky shores of Arniston is the Queen of the Thames.